There are simple steps you can take to prevent Zoom-bombing. When you schedule a meeting, the following settings are recommended on the "Schedule a Meeting" page:
- Registration: Check the "Required" box. This will generate an email to invitees, and only after they click on the link sent and register, will they receive the meeting parameters.
- Meeting ID: Select "Generate Automatically" instead of using your Personal Meeting ID
- Meeting password: "Require meeting password" is now a default setting. Choose your own and send it to invited participants only.
- Meeting Options:
- Enable join before host: Deselect, so the meeting will not start until the host enters.
- Enable waiting room: Select to require participants to enter a waiting room; admit them from there individually, or as a group.
- Only authenticated users can join: Selecting this option will only allow users with Zoom accounts to enter the meeting.
Once you start a meeting, there are further security measures that can be taken. Click on the checkered shield icon labeled "Security" to set the following options as appropriate:
- Lock Meeting: When a meeting is locked, no new participants can join, even if they have the meeting ID and password. Select after careful consideration as participants cannot enter late or re-enter after being disconnected due to a technical issue.
- Enable waiting room: You can set it here if it was not set when scheduling.
- Share Screen: Deselecting this will prevent other participants from sharing their screen without individual authorization. The latter can be managed by clicking on the green Share Screen icon and choosing "Advanced Sharing Options."
- Chat: Deselecting it prevents participants from sending a message visible to all others.
Further options on the black toolbar:
- Under Manage Participants, you can mute all participants' microphones and prevent users from applying virtual backgrounds (and thereby potentially displaying an insulting image).
- You can also Remove a particpant or Put one on hold.
- Once the Whiteboard is shared, an option labeled "More" appears on the toolbar to "Disable participants annotation."